Pregnancy and BodyFlow

Last post 02-15-2012, 3:00 PM by Sarah41. 11 replies.

Rate thread:
Sort Posts:
Previous Next
  •  12-18-2011, 11:05 AM 124069

Pregnancy and BodyFlow

Hello Everyone,

I am a BodyFlow Instructor in Canada and I am currently 4 months pregnant. I'm still teaching class and so far I've been able to modify certain positions and still make the class challenging for members. I'm just wondering if anyone has been in this situation and had any suggestions or tips on what they did, how long you were able to teach and any challenges you found. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Living the Goodlife
  •  12-19-2011, 9:43 AM 124158 in reply to 124069

Re: Pregnancy and BodyFlow

Congratulations!  First let me say I personally have not taught while pregnant, but a fellow instructor taught throughout all her pregnancies.  She teaches Flow, Vive, Pump and Jam.  And she taught up until the day before she delivered!  Crazy, but true!  There are pregnancy options in the choreo notes for Flow, so you can look at those and I believe there are pregnancy options for other classes as well.    Also, she used a Belly Belt to support her growing bundle while doing classes.  And her verbal cues and descriptions were clear so that those participants who were not pregnant, could easily do the regular choreography.  Mostly, I think you have to listen to your body to find out what will work for you.   

•  12-27-2011, 7:25 PM 124748 in reply to 124069

Hello,

I have been doing quite a few of the Les Mills classes at my local gym (Flow,Pump,Combat, Step) for about 5 months and have since lost 30 pounds. I have recently found out that I am pregnant, which I am VERY excited about. However, I am worried that I will have to stop attending these classes because they may become too strenuous. When you find out what to do, can you post it on here? I would love the help as well.

Thanks!

•  12-27-2011, 9:14 PM 124753 in reply to 124748

Hi,